The boundaries of almost all of Trafford’s boroughs will be redrawn

All but one of Trafford’s district boundaries will be redrawn, with residents having just one more week to have their say on the plans.

New boundaries have been proposed for municipal districts throughout the municipality and residents and local groups can give their input before consultation closes on Monday, February 7, 2022.

The process is managed by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), which wants to know what residents and local organizations think about the proposals. The 10-week consultation started on November 30, 2021.

READ MORE:Silence is broken in the streets as officers break down doors in dawn raids

The LGBCE is the independent body that will ultimately decide where the new boundaries will be located, and said the goal of the current review is to build constituencies that “reflect communities and ensure electoral fairness for future elections.”

The proposed changes are intended to ensure that all Trafford councilors represent a similar number of constituents and that constituencies are chosen in a way that allows the council to function effectively.

The commission has now published its proposal for changes to Trafford and proposes to keep the current arrangement, whereby Trafford has 21 wards with three councilors per ward.

Proposed changes include:

  • The boundaries of 20 of the 21 districts will be changed.
  • The existing districts of Clifford, Priory and St Mary’s will be renamed Old Trafford, Sale Priory and Manor respectively.
  • The M60 will be used as the boundary between the Boroughs of Stretford and Urmston
  • There will be a new Barton and Lostock room, covering the Lostock, Kingsway Park and Dumplington (Trafford Centre) areas
  • Boundary changes in the southeast of the county will result in new districts of Timperley North, Timperley Central, and Hale Barns and South Timperley
  • Carrington, Partington, Dunham Massey and Warburton parishes will be united into one ward. This will also allow some constituents who were previously in the Bucklow-St Martins constituency to be placed in the Ashton upon Mersey or Manor constituencies.

You can express your opinion online, by email or by mail. The Commission has a dedicated section on its website (Local Government Boundary Commission for England Consultation Portal ( where residents can view the details of the proposals and comment on the names of the districts and Its limits.

The deadline for submissions is Monday, February 7, 2022.

You can also give feedback by email to [email protected] and by post to:

Review Officer (Trafford)
post office box 133
NE24 9FE

Sign up for MEN email newsletters to get the latest on sports, news, updates and more by following this link

Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.