Stirling voters poised to go to the polls to pick councilors on May 5 – here’s a reminder of the candidates in your areas

Voters go to the polls tomorrow (Thursday) to elect the 23 people who will make up the next Stirling Council.

A total of 56 candidates are running in Stirling for the May 5 local authority election.

While some locals who registered for a postal vote will already have voted, many will be making their choices officially in person at polling stations across the area tomorrow (Thursday).

The SNP are standing 14 candidates, Conservatives 11, Labor and the Liberal Democrats seven each, and the Greens five. There are also four independents, one Alba candidate and the Scottish Family Party have a candidate standing in each ward in the Stirling Council area.

Stirling Council’s 23 elected members represent a total of seven wards.

Following the election of 2017 the ruling administration was formed through a coalition between the SNP and Labour, who had eight and four councilors respectively. The Conservatives formed the opposition with nine councilors – later cut to eight when one became independent.

Voters will use the Single Transferable Vote (STV) system. Instead of putting a cross in your chosen box as is done in general elections, voters use numbers.

Ballot papers list all the candidates standing to be councilors in your ward.

The voter then numbers the candidates in order of choice by putting the number 1 in the box next to the name of the candidate who is your first choice, 2 in the box next to your second choice, 3 in the box next to your third choice , and so on. You can make as many or as few choices as you wish.

See also  Hearts and Hibs: Oh, how fortunes have flipped - and is the bottle there for it to change again

Here is a final reminder of the candidates in each ward:

Ward One, Trossachs and Teith

Martin Earl, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Wendy Faulkner, Scottish Greens

Josh HamiltonScottish Labor Party

Dolores HughesScottish Family Party

Gene Maxwell, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Galen Milne, Scottish Liberal Democrats

John Watson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Elaine Watterson, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Ward Two, Forth and Endrick

Rob Davies, Independent

Rosemay Fraser, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Paul Goodwin, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Thomas Heald, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Paul Henke, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

James MacLaren, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Gerry McGarvey, Scottish Labor Party

Liam McKechnieScottish Family Party

Ward Three, Dunblane and Bridge of Allan

Bill CowanAlba Party

Ewan DillonScottish Labor Party

Douglas Dodds, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Graham Houston, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ahsan Khan, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Alastair Majury, Independent

Fayzan Rehman, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Willy Stirling, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Alasdair Tollemache, Scottish Green

Nickie WillisScottish Family Party

Ward Four, Stirling North

Oliver Franklin, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Danny Gibson, Labor and Co-operative Party

Susan McGill, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Shena McLelland, Scottish Family Party

Rachel Nunn, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Amy SmithScottish Greens

Jim Thomson, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Ward Five, Stirling West

Neil Benny, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Scott Farmer, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Morag Fulton, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Dick Moerman, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Alastair Pettigrew, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Jen PrestonScottish Labor Party

Michael WillisScottish Family Party

Ward Six, Stirling East

Bryan Flannagan, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Linda Hendry, Scottish Greens

See also  Durango Fair 2021: programming December 4

Chris KaneScottish Labor Party

Gary McGrow, Independent

Gerry McLaughlan, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Gordon Murphy, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Grant Thoms, Scottish National Party (SNP)

David Tortolano, Scottish Family Party

Ward Seven, Bannockburn

Margaret Brisley, Scottish Labor Party

Brian Hambly, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Sophie HendryScottish Family Party

Alasdair MacPherson, Independent

Hilary MacPherson, Scottish Liberal Democrats

Stuart McLuckie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist

Marie Stadtler, Scottish Greens

Diane Tortolano, Scottish National Party (SNP)

Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.