Full list of Tories who have called for Boris Johnson to resign since ‘partygate’ scandal began

Boris Johnson is facing the largest threat to his premiership after he was fined for breaking lockdown rules by attending his “birthday party” in the Cabinet room in June 2020.

The latest development in the ‘partygate’ scandal has resulted in renewed calls for the Prime Minister to step down from his role.

Nigel Mills, the Tory MP for Amber Valley, became the first backbencher to call for Mr Johnson to quit since the Met Police announced that, along with Carrie Johnson and Rishi Sunak, he would receive a fixed penalty noticed (FPN).

Mr Mills joins several Conservative MPs who had previously publicly called on the Prime Minister to quit. But a number of Cabinet ministers have also rallied behind the Prime Minister to publicly shore up his support for him.

Below is the full list of Tory MPs who have called on Mr Johnson to stand down so far:

Since the Prime Minister received a FPN

1. Nigel Mills – MP for Amber Valley

A Tory MP broke ranks to become the first Conservative backbencher to call for Boris Johnson to quit since the Prime Minister was fined over the “partygate” scandal.

Nigel Mills, the Tory MP for Amber Valley, said on Apr 13 that he no longer believes Mr Johnson’s position as Prime Minister is “tenable”.

Speaking to BBC Radio Derby, Mr Mills said: “In all conscience I don’t think a prime minister can survive or should survive breaking the rules he put in place and he was on the TV every few nights, reminding us all that we should I watched.

“We have to have higher standards than that of people at the top. He has been fined, I do not think his position is tenable, in my view.

2. Craig Whittaker

Mr Whittaker, the MP for Calder Valley who has previously been a staunch supporter of the Prime Minister, called for him to resign during a Facebook question-and-answer session.

“I not only think that the Prime Minister should resign but I also think that Rishi Sunak should resign as well”, he said. “Through this whole process it hasn’t been particularly clear that the Prime Minister broke any rules until of course he’s been issued with a fixed penalty notice this week.”

However, Mr Whittaker confirmed he would not submit a letter of no-confidence to the 1922 Committee as he expected that Mr Johnson would win a vote of Tory MPs.

3. Karen Bradley

Ms Bradley, a former Northern Ireland Secretary and the MP for Staffordshire Moorlands, told Stoke-on-Trent Live: “I will spend the next few days consulting my constituents and will decide on what action to take after listening to them.

“But I do wish to make it clear that if I had been a minister found to have broken the laws that I passed, I would be tendering my resignation now.”

4. Dr Neil Hudson

Dr Hudson, the Tory MP for Penrith and the Borders, maintained his position “that I categorically will not defend the indefensible”.

“Destabilizing the UK Government would undermine international efforts to support the Ukrainian people and bring the despicable Russian invasion to an end,” he said in a statement.

“I will therefore be looking to the Prime Minister to show the statesmanship he has been showing with Ukraine, and outline a timetable and process for an orderly transition to a leadership election as soon as the international situation permits.”

5.Mark Harper

Mark Harper, the Tory former chief whip, called on Boris Johnson to resign and said the Prime Minister was no longer “worthy of the great office that he holds.”

Mr Johnson told the House of Commons that he apologized “unreservedly” after he was fined over the “partygate” scandal.

But his apology was not enough to win over Mr Harper who told the Prime Minister he should now quit 10 Downing Street.

He later revealed on Twitter he had submitted a letter to the 1922 Committee of backbench Conservatives calling for a no-confidence vote in Mr Johnson.


Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *