full list of Academy Award nominees

Here is everything you need to know about this year’s Oscars, including the full list of nominations.

When are the Oscars 2022?

The Oscars will be held on Sunday, March 27 – having been pushed back from their usual spot in February amid the pandemic. The ceremony will run from 1am UK time (8pm ET) and continue until around 4 or 5am.

What TV channel will the Oscars be on?

Details on how UK fans can watch the ceremony live are yet to be confirmed, but previous events have seen the awards broadcast on a dedicated Sky Cinema Oscars channel.

Who will host the Oscars?

The 94th Academy Awards will have a host once again after a three-year hiatus that saw the ceremony proceed without a master of ceremonies, according to NBC.

It has not yet been confirmed who will take the lead role.

Oscars 2022 nominations list

Best actor in a leading role

Javier Bardem: Being the Ricardos

Benedict Cumberbatch: The Power of the Dog

Andrew Garfield: tick, tick…BOOM!

Will Smith: King Richard

Denzel Washington: The Tragedy of Macbeth

Best actor in a supporting role

Ciaran Hinds: Belfast

Troy Kotsur: CODA

Jesse Plemons: The Power of the Dog

JK Simmons: Being the Ricardos

Kodi Smit-McPhee: The Power of the Dog

Best actress in a leading role

Jessica Chastain: The Eyes of Tammy Faye

Olivia Colman: The Lost Daughter

Penelope Cruz: Parallel Mothers

Nicole Kidman: Being the Ricardos

Kristen StewartSpencer

Best actress in a supporting role

Jessie Buckley: The Lost Daughter

Ariana DeBose: West Side Story

Judi Dench: Belfast

Kirsten Dunst: The Power of the Dog

Aunjanue Ellis: King Richard

Best Pictures

Belfast: Laura Berwick, Kenneth Branagh, Becca Kovacik and Tamar Thomas, Producers

CODA: Philippe Rousselet, Fabrice Gianfermi and Patrick Wachsberger, Producers

Don’t Look Up: Adam McKay and Kevin Messick, Producers

Drive My Car: Teruhisa Yamamoto, Producer

Dune: Mary Parent, Denis Villeneuve and Cale Boyter, Producers

King Richard: Tim White, Trevor White and Will Smith, Producers

Licorice Pizza: Sara Murphy, Adam Somner and Paul Thomas Anderson, Producers

Nightmare Alley: Guillermo del Toro, J. Miles Dale and Bradley Cooper, Producers

The Power of the Dog: Jane Campion, Tanya Seghatchian, Emile Sherman, Iain Canning and Roger Frappier, Producers

West Side Story: Steven Spielberg and Kristie Macosko Krieger, Producers

Best Animated Feature Film

Charm: Jared Bush, Byron Howard, Yvett Merino and Clark Spencer

Flee: Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Luca: Enrico Casarosa and Andrea Warren

The Mitchells vs. the Machines: Mike Rianda, Phil Lord, Christopher Miller and Kurt Albrecht

Raya and the Last Dragon: Don Hall, Carlos López Estrada, Osnat Shurer and Peter Del Vecho

Best Cinematography

Dune: Greig Fraser

Nightmare Alley: Dan Laustsen

The Power of the Dog: Ari Wegner

The Tragedy of Macbeth: Bruno Delbonnel

West Side Story: Janusz Kaminski

Best Costume Design

Cruella: Jenny Beavan

Cyrano: Massimo Cantini Parrini and Jacqueline Durran

Dune: Jacqueline West and Robert Morgan

Nightmare Alley: Luis Sequeira

West Side Story: Paul Tazewell

Best Director

Kenneth Branagh: Belfast

Paul Thomas Anderson: Licorice Pizza

Jane Campion: The Power of the Dog

Ryusuke Hamaguchi: Drive My Car

Steven Spielberg: Westside Story

Best Documentary (Feature)

Ascension: Jessica Kingdon, Kira Simon-Kennedy and Nathan Truesdell

Attica: Stanley Nelson and Traci A. Curry

Flee: Jonas Poher Rasmussen, Monica Hellström, Signe Byrge Sørensen and Charlotte De La Gournerie

Summer of Soul (Or, When The Revolution Could Not Be Televised): Ahmir “Questlove” Thompson, Joseph Patel, Robert Fyvolent and David Dinerstein

Writing with Fire: Rintu Thomas and Sushmit Ghosh

Best Documentary (Short Subject)

Audible: Matt Ogens and Geoff McLean

Lead Me Home: Pedro Kos and Jon Shenk

The Queen of Basketball: Ben Proudfoot

Three Songs for Benazir: Elizabeth Mirzaei and Gulistan Mirzaei

When We Were Bullies: Jay Rosenblatt

Best Film Editing

Don’t Look Up: Hank Corwin

Dune: Joe Walker

King Richard: Pamela Martin

The Power of the Dog: Peter Scyberras

tick, tick… BOOM!: Myron Kerstein and Andrew Weisblum

Best International Feature Film

Drive My Car: Japan

Flee: Denmark

The Hand of God: Italy

Lunana: A Yak in the Classroom: Bhutan

The Worst Person in the World: Norway

Best Makeup and Hairstyling

Coming 2 America: Mike Marino, Stacey Morris and Carla Farmer

Cruella: Nadia Stacey, Naomi Donne and Julia Vernon

Dune: Donald Mowat, Love Larson and Eva von Bahr

The Eyes of Tammy Faye: Linda Dowds, Stephanie Ingram and Justin Raleigh

House of Gucci: Göran Lundström, Anna Carin Lock and Frederic Aspiras

Best Music (Original Score)

Don’t Look Up: Nicholas Britell

Dune: Hans Zimmer

Charm: Germaine Franco

Parallel Mothers: Alberto Iglesias

The Power of the Dog: Jonny Greenwood

Best Music (Original Song)

“Be Alive” – King Richard: Music and Lyric by DIXSON and Beyoncé Knowles-Carter

“Dos Oruguitas” – Encanto: Music and Lyric by Lin-Manuel Miranda

“Down to Joy” – Belfast: Music and Lyric by Van Morrison

“No Time to Die” – No Time to Die: Music and Lyric by Billie Eilish and Finneas O’Connell

“Somehow You Do” – Four Good Days: Music and Lyric by Diane Warren

Best Production Design

Dune: Production Design: Patrice Vermette; Set Decoration: Zsuzsanna Sipos

Nightmare Alley: Production Design: Tamara Deverell; Set Decoration: Shane Vieau

The Power of the Dog: Production Design: Grant Major; Set Decoration: Amber Richards

The Tragedy of Macbeth: Production Design: Stefan Dechant; Set Decoration: Nancy Haigh

West Side Story: Production Design: Adam Stockhausen; Set Decoration: Rena DeAngelo

Best Animated Short Film

Affairs of the Art: Joanna Quinn and Les Mills

Beast: Hugo Covarrubias and Tevo Diaz

Boxballet: Anton Dyakov

Robin Robin: Dan Ojari and Mikey Please

The Windshield Wiper: Alberto Mielgo and Leo Sanchez

Best Live Action Short Film

Ala Kachuu – Take and Run: Maria Brendle and Nadine Lüchinger

The Dress: Tadeusz Łysiak and Maciej Ślesicki

The Long Goodbye: Aneil Karia and Riz Ahmed

On My Mind: Martin Strange-Hansen and Kim Magnusson

Please Hold: KD Dávila and Levin Menekse

Best Sound

Belfast: Denise Yarde, Simon Chase, James Mather and Niv Adiri

Dune: Mac Ruth, Mark Mangini, Theo Green, Doug Hemphill and Ron Bartlett

No Time to Die: Simon Hayes, Oliver Tarney, James Harrison, Paul Massey and Mark Taylor

The Power of the Dog: Richard Flynn, Robert Mackenzie and Tara Webb

West Side Story: Tod A. Maitland, Gary Rydstrom, Brian Chumney, Andy Nelson and Shawn Murphy

Best Visual Effects

Dune: Paul Lambert, Tristan Myles, Brian Connor and Gerd Nefzer

Free Guy: Swen Gillberg, Bryan Grill, Nikos Kalaitzidis and Dan Sudick

No Time to Die: Charlie Noble, Joel Green, Jonathan Fawkner and Chris Corbould

Shang-Chi and the Legend of the Ten Rings: Christopher Townsend, Joe Farrell, Sean Noel Walker and Dan Oliver

Spider-Man: No Way Home: Kelly Port, Chris Waegner, Scott Edelstein and Dan Sudick

Best Writing (Original Screenplay)

Belfast: Kenneth Branagh

Don’t Look Up: Adam McKay, David Sirota

King Richard: Zach Baylin

Licorice Pizza: Paul Thomas Anderson

The Worst Person in the World: Eskil Vogt, Joachim Troer

Best Writing (Adapted Screenplay)

CODA: Siân Heder

Drive My Car: Ryusuke Hamaguchi, Takamasa Oe

Dune: Jon Spaihts, Denis Villeneuve and Eric Roth

The Lost Daughter: Maggie Gyllenhaal

The Power of the Dog: Jane Campion


Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *