Eight new cities created in UK for Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations – full list

Eight new cities will be created in the UK as part of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

The Cabinet Office announced Stanley, the capital of the Falkland Islands, is among the eight places to win converted city status. This is the first Overseas Territory to win the competition.

Douglas on the Crown Dependency of the Isle of Man has also claimed the civic honour. Bangor in Northern Ireland, Colchester, Doncaster and Milton Keynes in England, and Dunfermline in Scotland and Wrexham in Wales complete the list of places getting the royal honour.

READMORE: Queen pictured beaming as she makes first public appearance since March

Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster Steve Barclay said they are some of the places that ‘make Britain great’. He said: “What was clear to me during the process of assessing each application was the pride that people felt for their communities, local cultural heritage and the Royal Family.

“As we celebrate Her Majesty The Queen’s colossal contribution to society, I am thrilled that we are able to recognize some of the many places that make Britain great. It is also incredibly reflective of Her Majesty’s global outlook and years of international service that applicants from the Overseas Territories and Crown Dependencies have been selected as winners for the first time.”

The new cities can expect a boost to local communities and open up new opportunities for people who live there, according to the Cabinet Office. The last competition to win civic honors ran a decade ago to mark the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee.

See also  Man City stroll on in Champions League as academy starlets get moment in limelight vs Sporting - Stuart Brennan

The Platinum Jubilee marks the Queen’s 70-year reign

For the first time this year, Crown Dependencies and Overseas Territories were allowed to apply. The announcement of the latest places to be awarded the city takes the official number of cities in mainland UK to 76, with 55 in England, eight in Scotland, seven in Wales and six in Northern Ireland.

Culture Secretary Nadine Dorries described city status as ‘a huge accolade’ adding: “This competition showcases the best of Britain and the Overseas Territories and will act as a lasting legacy of Her Majesty The Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.”

Richard Hyslop, UK Representative to the Falklands government, said: “Being granted City Status in the Platinum Jubilee year is a tremendous honour, made all the more significant as 2022 also marks the 40th anniversary of the liberation of the Falkland Islands and reflects the tremendous transformation that has taken place in Stanley over the last 40 years.”

Isle of Man’s chief minister Alfred Cannan said: “Douglas being named as one of the eight city status winners, and leading the way for the Crown Dependencies, is a huge honor for the island and celebrates our unique mix of culture, history and heritage. The accolade is a marvelous way to mark our relationship with Her Majesty The Queen, our Lord of Mann, while celebrating the Platinum Jubilee.”

Read more of today’s top stories here


Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.