All the candidates standing in Salford for local elections 2022 by ward

A total of 20 seats will be up for grabs in Salford City Council in the upcoming local elections and 77 candidates are standing to win the votes of the public. Salford City Council is largely dominated by the Labor Party with only eight councilors not currently associated with the party.

There is one seat available in each ward across the borough with Labor and Liberal Democrats fielding a candidate in every ward. The Conservatives will only have 16 candidates standing in this election.

The Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition, Women’s Equality Party and Britain First are all fielding one candidate each: Sally Griffiths, Donna-Maree Humphery and Ashlea Simon respectively. You must be registered to vote by Thursday, April 14 with all applications for a postal vote due by 5pm on Tuesday, April 19.

Read more: Manchester Airport mayhem ‘an example of Covid’s re-emergence’ as sub-variant surges, Wigan health boss warns

The election count will take place overnight on Thursday, May 5 with results coming in the early hours of Friday, May 6.

The list of candidates has been published by Salford City Council:

Barton and Winton:

  • Anthony Duke (Liberal Democrats)
  • John MullenLabour
  • Michael Richman(Conservative)

Blackfriars and Trinity:

  • Joe Allen (Liberal Democrats)
  • David Jones (Green)
  • Roseanna Wain (Labour)

Boothstown and Ellenbrook:

  • Mohammed Bashir (Labour)
  • Diana Battersby (Green)
  • Ian Chisnall (Liberal Democrats)
  • Les Turner (Conservative)


  • Patience Assam (Conservative)
  • David Henry (Green)
  • Eli Leech (Independent)
  • John Merry (Labour)
  • Alexander Thomas William Wynne (Liberal Democrats)

Cadishead and Lower Ireland

  • Yolande Amana-Ghola (Labour)
  • Jamie Clark (Liberal Democrats)
  • Amar Farooq (Conservative)


  • Mary Ferrer (Independent)
  • Bernard Goldfine (Conservative)
  • Gizella Hughes (Liberal Democrats)
  • Neil Reynolds (Labour)
  • Christopher Seed (Green)


  • Chris Bates(Conservative)
  • Oliver Bradfield (Liberal Democrats)
  • Sally Griffiths (Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition)
  • Clive Hamilton (Green)
  • Nathaniel Tetteh (Labour)

Higher Ilam and Peel Green:

  • Saqib Aftab (Conservative)
  • Mishal Saeed (Labour)
  • Kenneth Thompson (Liberal Democrats)

Kersal and Broughton Park:

  • Adam Carney(Conservative)
  • Chioma Mgbeokwere (Labour)
  • James Twells (Liberal Democrats)
  • Avrohom Walter (Independent)

Little Hulton:

  • Dorothy Chapman(Conservative)
  • Stuart Oxbrow (Green)
  • Theresa Pepper (Labour)
  • Stuart Robbins (Liberal Democrats)


  • Chris Twells (Liberal Democrats)
  • John WalshLabour

Pendlebury and Clifton:

  • Sophia LindenLabour
  • Ian McKinlay (Liberal Democrats)
  • Jackie Mountaine (Conservative)

Pendleton and Charlestown:

  • Miranda Friedman(Conservative)
  • Andrew Nadin (Green)
  • Sam Wade (Liberal Democrats)
  • John Warmisham (Labour)


  • Lucy Staniforth (Green)
  • Phil Tresadern (Labour)
  • Alex Warren (Liberal Democrats)

Swinton and Wardley:

  • Alima Husain (Conservative)
  • Gina ReynoldsLabour
  • Mark SampsonIndependent
  • Liam Waite (Green)
  • Gareth Watkins (Liberal Democrats)


  • Howard Balkind (Green)
  • Stuart Dickman (Labour)
  • John McLellan (Liberal Democrats)
  • Derek Meades(Conservative)
  • Joe O’Neil (Independent)

Walken North:

  • Frederick Battersby (Green)
  • John Grant (Liberal Democrats)
  • Adrees Masood (Conservative)
  • Ashlea Simon (Britain First)
  • Jack Youd (Labour)

Walken South:

  • Thomas Dylan (Green)
  • Azmat Husain (Conservative)
  • Patricia Murphy (Liberal Democrats)
  • Irfan Syed (Labour)

Weste and Seedley:

  • Paul Heilbron (Liberal Democrats)
  • Donna-Maree Humphery (Women’s Equality Party)
  • Alexis Shama (Labour)

Worsley and Westwood Park:

  • James Blessing (Liberal Democrats)
  • Tony DaviesLabour
  • Adam Kealey(Conservative)

To register to vote online, go to

Related Posts

George Holan

George Holan is chief editor at Plainsmen Post and has articles published in many notable publications in the last decade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *